Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Fellow Indie Authors,

I am a newbie and have a much-needed question and what better place than to ask you veterans how to properly do this the right way.

That is:  How do we pay our taxes as indie writers?  (Granted, I didn't earn much, but over the $500 minimum, so I will be needing to file for the 2012-2013 period.) 

What forms do we fill out, federal and local, what counts as expenses to deduct, and do we need to pay taxes outside the US, for example to the UK, and other parts of Europe where our Kindle books were bought??  This is all very confusing, sorry if it's a simple question to the rest of you veterans, but I could really use help!)  ???

Thank you all kindly in advance.

Happy 2013 everyone.

·
Super Moderator
67,292 Posts
Welcome!

This is NOT a simple question and, honestly, this isn't the place to ask it. :-\  You should find yourself a local, credentialed tax professional and make an appointment with him or her SOONER rather than later. 

A couple of important points:

There is no minimum.  If you made even $a income from writing, you are supposed to report that on your return -- assuming your total income is above the filing threshold.  Of course, it's generally simpler all around if it's just a few dollars, or even a few hundred, than if it's several thousands. 

You may not get 'official' income documentation, if it's not at least $600, but you still need to report it.  You should be keeping track.  Author members here CAN tell you where you can find regular reports which you'll want to download and save.

In all cases there are potential deductible expenses but you have to have records.  If you can't prove you spent the money and it was for your business, you can't deduct it, sorry.  Assuming there are records, expenses may include -- among other things -- costs of supplies, advertising, travel, depreciation on equipment etc.