Kindle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting. I have a question and I would like an opinion.

I have decided to self-publish my first novel. I have had no luck finding a publisher or agent. However, the book was a finalist in two well know writing competitions, St. Martins Press' Malice Domestic contest and the Private Eye Writers of America's Best First Private Eye Novel Competition.

My question is, should I include that fact in my blurb or book description?  Will people (and by people I mean potential book buyers) think, "It almost won, so it can't be too bad," or will they think, "Finalist is just another word for loser."?

·
Registered
520 Posts
In answer to the question posed in the title of your thread, in this era of fragile egos, 'finalist' is the sympathetic, non-threatening, PC way of saying you didn't win. See link below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-K2Yi_y7Y4w

On a serious note, I'd include it. I don't know whether it will garner more credibility with all readers, but as difficult as it is to gain traction for a self-pubbed book in this day and age, I say use any legal, unobnoxious way you can.

Good luck with it.

·
Registered
899 Posts
Gordon, I was also a finalist in the First Private Eye contest, Post Pattern finished in 3rd place. As I'm sure you know, 1st place meant you get published. 3rd place meant you got a nice letter (I think the 2nd place contestant might have won a set of steak knives).

I included the tidbit that my novel was a finalist in the contest on my author page on Amazon. Why? Mostly because I think it sounds good. It is less important than other things, including getting good customer reviews. But I don't see how it could possibly hurt. I don't think anyone would ever consider you a loser for being a finalist. And if the author(s) ahead of you didn't submit anything that year, you would have won.