Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still fairly new to self-publishing on the e-reader market and I haven't seen this really discussed anywhere, and I figure this is the place to ask:  is it tacky to include a sentence or two in your book's back matter that says something along the lines of "If you enjoyed this book, please consider leaving a thoughtful and honest review," or is that just good marketing?  My background in preparing e-mails for marketing mailing lists has drilled into me the importance of a clear call to action, but in thinking about this now, it occurs to me that it could be either incredibly tacky, or even a violation of terms of service.

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
I have something similar in the backs of all of my books along with the hyperlinks for the rest of my books. It's just a reminder, and as soon as I added it in there I started getting a lot more reviews.

·
Registered
87 Posts
LilianaHart said:
I have something similar in the backs of all of my books along with the hyperlinks for the rest of my books. It's just a reminder, and as soon as I added it in there I started getting a lot more reviews.
How do you usually phrase the request, if you don't mind me asking? I'm thinking of adding, "...and don't forget to leave a review." after telling them to browse my Author Page/book at the end. Or something.

I'm getting kind of desperate for reviews, gauche be damned. I have over 400 books sold so far and only one stinkin' review... :-[

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
Rayna Corday said:
How do you usually phrase the request, if you don't mind me asking? I'm thinking of adding, "...and don't forget to leave a review." after telling them to browse my Author Page/book at the end. Or something.

I'm getting kind of desperate for reviews, gauche be damned. I have over 400 books sold so far and only one stinkin' review... :-[
This is what I have in the back of all my books (with different titles)