Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Based on my most recent review, apparently my book, Cyberdrome, is in the wrong genre: Instead of "Science Fiction Thriller" it should be "Science Fiction Romance" because there is a love story involved and my protagonist told his ex-girlfriend, "I never stopped loving you." Okay, when it is brought to my attention, it does sound a little cliché, but hey, it's 5 words out of 90,000--I don't think it should define the book. ;)

Anyway, I'm not here to trash the review, but actually to use it to bring up a pertinent point. Choosing your genre, sub-genre, or cross-genre is a fairly important decision that many of us Indies (myself included) probably make without giving it much thought. I didn't choose high-tech science fiction, and scifi thriller because I studied what was selling best, I just guessed that they matched my book's general themes and went with it.

However, this particular reviewer's comments reminded me that while I have always aimed my promotions, book covers, and descriptions, towards the hard-scifi, predominately male demographic, the majority of my real "fans" (based on reviews and lots of emails) have all been women. So maybe I need to either rethink my genre-placement for the next book, or reconsider who my audience is. I did write Cyberdrome as a love story in a believable science fiction background, and maybe I need to admit that the love story part of it is more appealing, and start talking to a different audience.  

So, what about you? Is there a chance your book is in the wrong genre? Might it sell better, or get better reviews in another?

·
Registered
5,749 Posts
OK, I haven't read Cyberdrome, so I can't speak to whether that reviewer is right, but merely having a love story does not make something a romance. (And actually, the term "love story" is distinguishable from "romance.")