Kindle Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Huw ap Gryffydd is the Lord of two tiny but proud and ancient Welsh islands - Yns Becod and Yns Tad

When the Her Majesty's Royal Mail has the effrontery to replace the names with mere postal zip codes his heritage is under threat.

And he is determined to fight back.

And before the hapless British Prime Minister can even attempt to say, 'Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch,' ap Gryffydd has whipped his 2,000 colourful islanders into a Celtic frenzy.

They make a Unilateral Declaration of Independence from the mainland and vow to stand, man, woman and child, against any threat to their ancient autonomy.

Centuries earlier the Romans had sensed the power and peril of the wrath of the sleeping Welsh dragon, trembled in their togas, and left well enough alone. But that has all been forgotten in Westminster's corridors of power.

Rather than just go home for a nice cup of tea and a lie down as Caesar did, they lay plans to force the rebel islands back into line ... and abysmally underestimate what's in store for their task force across a short stretch of sea.

Can Squire Huw and his makeshift defence brigade of wily Welsh defeat the might of the English so that the British become two islands short of being Great Britain ever again?

Ian Skidmore's 'Island Fling' rolls swiftly from chuckles to laughs to side-splitting hilarity as the Islanders lay their peculiar plans ... and those at Number Ten Downing Street, London, desperately try every trick in the book to recapture the two little dots on their map and save their political careers.

'Island Fling' is a laugh-out-loud comedy that is perfect for fans of Tom Sharpe, Terry Pratchett and Ben Elton.

"Ian Skidmore is a talent to rival Tom Sharpe. The funniest writer in Wales." - The Liverpool Daily Post.

Ian Skidmore is the author of more thirty books - many of them best-sellers. He was also one of the most widely-read newspaper columnists and radio show presenters in the UK. After thirty years with BBC Wales, he was awarded the coveted Golden Microphone Award … and then fired a month later when BBC bureaucrats discovered he was English!

DOWNLOAD NOW: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Island-Fling-ebook/dp/B00B0C5DTK/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1360146876&sr=1-1

 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
67,441 Posts
Welcome to KindleBoards, and congratulations on the book! :)

This is just a friendly reminder that KindleBoards is a Readers and Kindle Fan forum. Authors are always welcome to post anywhere but, as you browse the 'boards, please keep in mind that self-promotion, of any sort, is ONLY allowed here in the Book Bazaar.

A brief recap of our rules follows: (Note that this doesn't mean you've done anything wrong; we just want you to have a ready reference, so post this note in every thread. :) )

--Please bookmark this thread (using your browser's bookmark/favorite function) so you can update it as we ask that authors have only one thread per book and add to it when there is more information. You may start a separate thread for each book (or you may have one thread per series of books, or one thread for all of your books, it's your choice).

--We invite you to use your book cover as your avatar and have links to your book and website in your signature. Instructions are posted here

--While you may respond to member posts to your thread at any time, you may only bump your thread (back-to-back posts by you) once every seven days. Once you've responded to a member, that resets the clock to zero and you must wait seven days to post, unless another member posts before then.

--We ask that Amazon reviews not be repeated here as they are easy to find at your book link. Also, full reviews from other sites should not be posted here, but you may post a short blurb and a link to the full review instead.

--Although self-promotion is limited to the Book Bazaar, our most successful authors have found the best way to promote their books is to be as active throughout KindleBoards as time allows. This is your target audience--book lovers with Kindles! Please note that putting link information in the body of your posts outside the Book Bazaar constitutes self promotion; please leave your links for your profile signature that will automatically appear on each post. For information on more ways to promote here on KindleBoards, be sure to check out this thread:
Authors: KindleBoards Tips & FAQ.

All this, and more, is included in our Forum Decorum. Be sure to check it from time to time for the current guidelines and rules.

Thanks for being part of KindleBoards! Feel free to send us a PM if you have any questions.

Betsy & Ann
Book Bazaar Moderators
 
1 - 2 of 2 Posts
Top