Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,634 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I've been posting for about a week, learning lots, and thought I'd introduce myself.

I'm a reader, not a writer, here for all your advice and reading recommendations. Well, that's not totally true. I'm a technical writer by profession. But it's definitely not the same! And my first degree was in resource management; I was a park ranger for 13 years before becoming a tech writer.

I'm a book lover, and have a strong need to "possess" my books. I dont use the library much  (altho I practically lived there as a kid) because if I like the book, I'd want to own it and would end up buying it. But I'm a practical person and I am running out of room for bookshelves. I finally have the lovely library/office I've always wanted, yet there are bookshelves spilling into just about every other room too. So I researched eReaders and am now a proud Kindle owner. It has led to a great intro into the world of indie authors and publishers. Long may you all prosper!

My preferred genres are listed, but I'll read pretty much anything.

--SHTF/apocalyptic fiction (but generally not a zombie fan)
--crime/mystery with alot of forensic detail
--science fiction (but not much fantasy)
--women in the US West
--nature guides and natural history
--evolutionary psychology
--epidemiology

And I'm interested in world history...an area where I feel I was shortchanged in school. So I welcome comprehensive, easy to read (for lazy me) histories of different nations and regions...if anyone has any to recommend.

And I enjoy books centered around horses and western lifestyles as well.

Cheers!

·
Registered
4,643 Posts
Hey there, 9MMare,

Especially since you're from Washington, take a look at my new suspense novel "Chuckanut Stalk." It takes place up in Bellingham.

Oh, and welcome to Kindle Boards!

·
Registered
2,077 Posts