Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I have a Kindle 2, purchased five weeks ago, and I love it. What I hate, though, is the lack of a file management system. Is the programming too difficult to accomplish this simple task? I am not a programmer, so I really do not understand.

I also do not understand why there is no memory card. It reminds me of earlier iterations of computers when nobody could see a reason for more than 8 mb of memory, 20 mb of hard drive. That thinking is just not forward thinking! (and that laptop is gathering dust in my closet)

I also object to being married to a device which has no option to change batteries. Even the Ipod has a replacement battery available with the tool and instructions to change it included... they are all over ebay. I understand where Amazon is going with the DX and why it is now a priority, but are they deaf? I understand the backlight problem with E ink, but do not understand why a side light or even a surface attachable light frame with side LED lights are not available.

Hmmm. Would just love to have the best features of the K1, K2, and Sony all in one unit. Is that too much to ask?  ???

In my humble opinion, Amazon has now, with the announcement of the DX, divided their interests and will be following two distinct development paths: One for the reader and one for the student. SO, perhaps we should develop our own wish list for the K3 "reader" and make sure Jeff Bezos knows what we are needing before we bite the bullet and upgrade!
::)

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
If you want an SD card and a replaceable battery, return the K2 and get a K1. There are refurbished ones available on Amazon and they are only $299. File management seems to be something Amazon can't figure out yet. Sorry to say. I love my K1, see no reason to upgrade to the K2.

The side light that Sony has hasn't been well received, perhaps the technology isn't there yet.

·
Registered
96 Posts