Kindle Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,613 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'd put "chick lit" as one of the 7 keywords you can add to your book.  So tonight, being incredibly bored, I searched for "chick lit" under kindle books.  I got up 45 pages and could not find my book on any of them.  So I did it again (I was really bored), and got about 63 pages - still nothing not even down the bottom of the pile with the books that have placeholder covers and are written in languages other than English. 

Do those keywords actually do anything?  Am I doing something wrong?  I'd put in the term without quote marks around it, not sure if it needed them.

·
Registered
154 Posts
I am fairly new to all of this myself. But - I would say that 'chick lit' is a tag that is used by lots of authors, therefore it might almost be a waste of a tag unless your book is one of their best sellers.

Since Amazon is all about the money I would assume there is some sort of algorithm that determines which ones show up higher in the list. That would be my assumption anyway. If thousands of people use that tag, they would have to have some sort of algorithm to determine the order the books show up in. Hope that makes sense. But like I said - I am new to all of this myself.

·
Registered
154 Posts
kathrynoh said:
Thanks. I wasn't expecting it to come high up but did think it would be somewhere in the results :eek:
You're welcome. I know what you mean, but the problem is there are probably a gazillion books using that tag.

·
Registered
1,751 Posts