Kindle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to figure something out and was hoping y'all could help. As an indie author I know how important keywords are and pay attention to them in both conversion and uploading.  The other day I downloaded one of my traditionally published books and looked at the OPF file. The publisher put in three "keywords" -- all three of them BISAC categories (frex, one "keyword" is: Juvenile Fiction / Social Issues / Friendship).

So my question is: does this mean my traditionally published book just doesn't have keywords or are the publishers putting those into the various vender systems some other way?  For example, I code the keywords into the OPF file when I convert my indie books, but I also enter the keywords when I upload the file to Amazon, B&N, etc.  I don't know which controls or if it matters that I put the keywords in the epub file itself.

Frankly, it wouldn't surprise me if traditional publishers don't pay as much attention to this stuff. I'm already contacting my pub about the epub file for another issue and am trying to decide whether to bring up the lack of keywords and suggest adding some.  But if they're just inputting the keywords separately when they upload the file, it seems like raising the issue wouldn't matter?

Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
12,722 Posts
What is an OPF file?

·
Registered
1,753 Posts
Are you referring to the <description> or <subject> tag in the metadata section on the opf file? There is no keywords tag that I am aware of. In epub3 there is a metadata xml object also but also as far as I know, there are also no keywords.

·
Registered
1,255 Posts
When a major publisher (say, Tor or HarperCollins) adds a book to Amazon, they cannot enter keywords - the function doesn't exist for them. They can enter BISAC categories, which is what you are seeing in the opf file (frex <dc:subject>Horror</dc:subject>)

-J

·
Registered
3,602 Posts