Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi again all! Been awhile since I posted..sorry :(

Anyway, I've been tryin to play catch up and just had a question for you all, if that's ok?

I have a K2 and have had it for over a year, but now I'm seeing the K3 with 3G + WiFi and wondering if I should upgrade? Or possibly wait & see if anything new & improved comes out? My biggest thing is I did the whole hack thing on my K2 so I can have my own pics as screensavers & now I can't update it :( So I'm thinkin I need to upgrade at some point? Any thoughts or ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Heather

·
Registered
2 Posts
I'm a newbie around here - I just got a 3G for Father's Day and am loving it.  The one thing I found that might be a problem for you is that I don't think you can hack into the latest version of the Kindle software (Ver 3.21) 

·
Registered
524 Posts
I bought a KindleDX which just had 3G. I replaced it with a K3 with just WiFi. Normally, I download books at home with WiFi which is faster and more dependable, at least where I live, than 3G. If I'm traveling, the 200+ books already on my Kindle would last me for, oh, golly, weeks and weeks but if I really want to download a book every hotel and coffee shop seems to have a WiFi hotspot as well as public plazas and parks. Of course, I'm usually traveling in Mexico.

I am enjoying my K3 immensely. If I were doing it now, I'd buy the $114 model--WiFi-only with ads--and spend the $75 saved on books. But, that's just me and my ex-wife will tell you I'm cheap.

·
5,931 Posts
Euroalien said:
I'm a newbie around here - I just got a 3G for Father's Day and am loving it. The one thing I found that might be a problem for you is that I don't think you can hack into the latest version of the Kindle software (Ver 3.21)
You can still hack the K3 to change your sleep pictures (screensavers) and fonts. For more information see our K3 FAQs here: