Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone heard anything about the student kindle?

I'm a student (duh) and carrying 1000 page textbooks around is not fun at all, period, not to mention paying up to $200 or more for a single book :( I've grown so used to my K1 that I really don't even like reading paper books anymore, the kindle has spoiled me :)

Any news would be great, thanks

Mat

·
Registered
1,845 Posts
I haven't heard anything official but what I seem to hear most often is that the textbook publishers don't want to go e-book. I understand your pain. But I bet if they went electronic, you'd still be paying way too much and then would be stuck with it - no bookstore buy-backs.

·
Registered
1,578 Posts
bigmat1201 said:
Has anyone heard anything about the student kindle?

I'm a student (duh) and carrying 1000 page textbooks around is not fun at all, period, not to mention paying up to $200 or more for a single book :( I've grown so used to my K1 that I really don't even like reading paper books anymore, the kindle has spoiled me :)

Any news would be great, thanks

Mat
Are you referring to perhaps, school books on the kindle? That would be kind of interesting but then taking notes might be an issue if you write notes inside the books.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
No, supposedly Amazon is working on a Student version of the kindle that has a larger screen (9-10in) so you could read standard letter sized pages on it, like whats in textbooks. And students would just have to buy the kindle and they could carry all there textbooks electronically on it instead of having to buy big heavy books. I was also hopping it would have a color screen, reading a science book in black and white wouldn't be too helpful since most of them have a lot of color pictures, at least mine does.