Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
1,296 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm writing a series that is going to feature a lesbian MC. She has a love interest (obviously female) and the other day I counted through my characters with my wife and figured out that out of all the characters I could name off the top of my head (including side characters, background characters, etc.):
  • Only one is solidly gay (The Lesbian MC).
  • About a dozen of them are straight. (The majority)
  • The rest are bisexual or undefined except for
  • One who is asexual.

And I'm writing this thread to kinda generally pick you guys' brain about this. I don't want to be an "LGBT" author writing books that will only land in the "LGBT" category.
Don't get me wrong, I'm a lesbian myself, huge ally, and I know I'm an LGBT author. But what I mean is... I don't want the obscurity of writing stuff that people will end up labeling as "Well that's just an LGBT story so it's not a REAL Urban Fantasy" < Something I have heard verbatim.

I don't want to be disregarded because my MC is gay and my cast of characters includes some other open-minded people.
Out of all my friends in real life, very few are actually 100% straight. I know a LOT of bisexual, pansexual, or otherwise not just "Straight" people, and that's without me going to any particular trouble to make friends with straight or gay people. So I don't really feel that my book represents an unrealistic number of not-straight people. It won't be obvious in all cases what everyone's sexuality is. Some are obviously with a hetero partner. I think there will be a total of five characters in book one who show at least some hint of their bisexuality, and I think most of those will end up clarifying it as as such (as opposed to being taken as hetero or homo because of the first mention of them flirting with another character or something).