Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

Having completed one book and a minor novella (both in the mystery genre, cozy-ish but no cats or cupcake shops), I realize that I love the writing part, but I am overwhelmed by the marketing. This sucks as my day job is as a marketing director. Honestly, I think I’m too close to the client and too inexperienced in the specific market.

I am looking to hire an experienced author who has had ongoing success in marketing his/her/their own books. I’d like someone who could take an hour or so, look over (audit) what I’ve done (which feels like a lot, but nothing focused), give me some brutally honest feedback, provide suggestions for a better directed effort, and perhaps even provide benchmarks for what is or could be possible. This would be a short-term, paid consultation.

On the plus side, I have a deep knowledge of marketing, ad development, art direction, marketing writing, digital marketing, etc. so we can skip the basics and get right down to how to apply it all to the hidden mechanics of book marketing. I’d be happy to provide you with a detailed list of what I’ve read, watched, tried, etc. as well as the results thus far.

Interested? Your best start would be to take a look at my author’s web page via the link in my signature. You can get a very quick sense of the kind of books I am writing / hoping to write. Drop me an email via the contact form on the page and let me know what you propose, your suggested scope and fees, etc. I’ve spent the last 30 years pricing and spec-ing marketing jobs, so whatever you send over isn’t set in stone. We can consider it the start of a conversation that ends when we both have an agreement we are very happy with.

Thanks for your time and I look forward to hearing from you!

·
Registered
13,297 Posts
Here is my assessment, for free.

The title is awesome. The cover is cool. It appears well-written. No real issues there.