Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Most people know that getting magnets near hard drives is a BIG no-no, because you can end up losing your data that way.

Does anyone know if this applies to the Kindle? Say if I get a purse with a magnetic closure, or something similar like that?

·
Registered
8,913 Posts
Hard drives are magnetic media.... The Kindle's internal storage, and SD cards, are not magnetic media. A magnetic closure will not affect them.

·
Registered
788 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ahh, so the Kindle has flash memory instead of magnetic memory. Very interesting. I was unsure :)

·
Super Moderator
67,556 Posts
I'm not an electrical expert, nor do I play one on TV, but my recollection from college physics class is that electricity and magnetism are closely related.  Since Kindle uses electricity, I think there is a bit of care warranted.  I wouldn't put my kindle in the vicinity of any really strong magnet.  But I don't think the magnets generally on purses and such are likely to be a problem.  In fact for the last two days I've been using a purse that has a magnetic closure with no ill effects.

Ann

·
Premium Member
63,459 Posts
As always, Verena knows of what she speaks!  I was worried when I first started using a purse with a magnetic closure with my Palm T/X, but carried it for months with no ill effects.  I haven't even thought about it with my Kindle.

Betsy

·
Registered
8,913 Posts
Yes, we learn through experience....  ;D

My husband (who has a degree in physics, mind you) was at a trade show a few years ago.... Kept having a problem with his hotel room door key.... Kept getting de-magnetized.... After the third time he realized that he was putting it in the same shirt pocket that he put his magnetic name tag on....

·
Registered
5,163 Posts
pidgeon92 said:
Yes, we learn through experience.... ;D