Kindle Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I'm new to publishing any of my writings. Does anyone have any insights/comments about making the first book in a series or a prequel a free download on Amazon ?

Not there yet, but my fantasy series (5 books ?) will begin with John & Andy – Book 1 – An Ancient Arrival. Planning on e-publishing on Amazon in March, with a bit of luck.

I'm reluctant to give Book 1 away, but as it is long (>150K words) it would not be a stretch to pull a few Chapters from the beginning and put them into an introductory novella.

Any thoughts

Cheers - Nick

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
The point of giving book 1 of a series away it to sell the rest of the books in the series. If you're publishing the entire series--or at least the first 3, the freebie is an option. Although, if you search the forum on the hundreds of posts about this, you'll see we're pretty much split on whether or not freebies are a good idea.

If you're just publishing book 1, now is not the time to even consider it.

·
Registered
Writing the next books in my Martin Billings series.
643 Posts
Another option is to write a novella that is in the series world, possibly a prequel but maybe a standalone story, and give it away, making sure you have the links to the series in back.

·
Registered
1,171 Posts
I'm new to publishing any of my writings. Does anyone have any insights/comments about making the first book in a series or a prequel a free download on Amazon ?
It works well for many authors. If you are wondering how to do it, you essentially have to set your 1st book to free on another site (Google, B&N, Apple etc) and then, after publishing on Amazon, let KDP support know the book is free elsewhere and ask them to price-match. Although they don't guarantee they will do it, they almost certainly will.

·
Registered
Bloomington Flaming Shorts
6 Posts