Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've always been skeptical that there are many readers out there who would ignore a book because it's priced too low.  But last week I was rapping with my spouse, who buys at least 1 Kindle book a week, about prices.  She told me that if something is below five bucks she thinks to herself "I wonder what's wrong with that book?"  There's one of them living in my own house!  I can't believe this never came up.

So maybe the price hawks were right and I've been cutting out a swathe of potential readers with the price.  Now is the time to find out.  Wrecker had a nice run at .99 but it's been plummeting.  I"m not even sure if it's in the top 1000 anymore (I've been an absentee writer/poster for a few weeks).  It's still appearing in "also bought" bars on Amazon, so I better try this soon.

So, anyway, some time next week the price is bumping up to $ 2.99...

G

·
Considering the exposure you've gotten, the book should be strong enough for $2.99. Keep an eye on it and I hope it works for you.

·
Registered
3,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You'll think this is BS (well, it probably is, actually) but I'm not really that concerned with the number sales or dollars anymore.  I was completely freaked, in a good way, at how many copies this book sold and deep down I feel like it's maxed out by now.  I'm honestly curious about what happens with the higher price, though...

·
Registered
3,548 Posts
I tried to put mine up to Dave, thinking along the same lines as you, but they're both being price matched. I raised the price on smashwords last week but it hasn't kicked in at the other stores yet.

Good luck  ;)

·
Registered
3,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Mel Comley said:
I tried to put mine up to Dave, thinking along the same lines as you, but they're both being price matched. I raised the price on smashwords last week but it hasn't kicked in at the other stores yet.