Kindle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all-

I'm a total newb at Amazon, self-pubbing, and all that jazz - admittedly so. I read on another thread that being put as a mature rating (regardless of checking it yourself during pub, or having a schmexy cover,) would get you less visibility - I'm assuming via advertising campaigns, etc.

My book is a lesbian romance, which includes sex scenes, but it's not erotica. There's very few *ahem* adult words, and it edges on Mature. It's certainly not rated E.

Should I pull the 18+ rating that I put on it originally? Would it help my visibility? I don't necessarily know if it would be ethical to do so. I wouldn't want a 10 year old to download it, by any means. 14 and up would be fine, I think, considering all the Skinemax available nowadays online, for free. This is a romance, anyway.

Thanks for your experienced opinions!

·
Registered
403 Posts
I don't think I'll engage in the discussion about whether 14 year olds should be reading sex scenes, but I've wondered the same about my thriller. It's fairly violent, it touches on a couple of topics not for under 18s, and there are naughty swear words in it! So I wouldn't take off the 18+ rating, but I have wondered how that affects it being seen by over 18s. In theory, you'd think it shouldn't affect that at all, but I'm not convinced. Then of course there's the issue that if you put an 18+ rating on something, people's minds immediately imagine the content to be more violent, more sexual, more whatever than it actually is.

I will say that, regarding whether it's ethical to take off the 18+ rating, if you put it on there in the first place because you thought it needed it, and the only reason you're considering removing it now is that you might get more visibility, doesn't that answer your question?

·
Registered
1,573 Posts