Kindle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings -- Which of the above is better to use in converting a downloaded TXT file on my computer to the Kindle format.  I am a newbie at ebook reading, and the first I ever heard of Mobipocket was on this very forum.

Regards,

ZU

·
Registered
89 Posts
I'm relatively new too, but from what I've read here all you have to do is download the mobipocket file to your computer and then email it to your kindle.  It is converted in the email process. 

John

P.S.  when you email the file, make sure your Kindle is on and so is the Whispernet.  It takes a few minutes so don't expect it to appear immediately.

·
Premium Member
19,280 Posts
WestPointer1968 said:
I'm relatively new too, but from what I've read here all you have to do is download the mobipocket file to your computer and then email it to your kindle. It is converted in the email process.
.TXT files need to be converted by the user. It's not a supported format that will be converted by Amazon. An easy way to do this would be to open the file in Word, save it as a Word file (.doc extension) and then send that to Amazon for conversion.

Or you can use Mobipocket Creator.

L

·
Registered
5,087 Posts
Leslie said:
.TXT files need to be converted by the user. It's not a supported format that will be converted by Amazon. An easy way to do this would be to open the file in Word, save it as a Word file (.doc extension) and then send that to Amazon for conversion.

Or you can use Mobipocket Creator.

L
Or if you don't have Word, you can send a file created by Open Office (as long as you save it in Word format), which is free.

Note that you can't convert a Word document with MobiCreator unless you have a copy of MS Word on your computer. It apparently uses Word to do some of the conversion to html (an intermediate step).

·
Premium Member
19,280 Posts
Tarma said: