Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there -- I'm new to KindleBoards, and happy to have found it.

Just wanted to mention my new short (6,000-word) story, Mr. Penumbra's Twenty-Four-Hour Book Store:

Two specific reasons I think it might be interesting to the KindleBoards community:

1. I think the Kindle is *perfect* for short fiction. That's worth celebrating, because short stories haven't really had a home for some time now. Magazines don't publish them anymore; they're buried at book stores; they're too long to read on the web. Maybe I'm being over-optimistic, but I'd love to see short stories make a Kindle-powered comeback.

2. This, in particular, is a short story about books, writing, and technology -- so if you're interested in the Kindle itself, and in what it suggests about our future, I think you'll find a lot of things to enjoy in this story.

2a. I should add, in case that sound a bit boring: It's also a story about finding a job, having a weird boss, and meeting someone you like. And, behind it all, there's a mystery.

If you do happen to check it out, I'd love your feedback. Thanks for considering.

·
Super Moderator
67,253 Posts
I think Amazon is having hiccups. . . .there's another Kindle book that had a price yesterday and doesn't today.

·
Registered
11,848 Posts
They must be having a hiccup.  I looked the book up a few minutes ago and it had a price. 

deb

·
Registered
2,205 Posts
I just finished reading "Mr. Penumbra's Twenty-Four-Hour Book Store" in one sitting.

I LOVED IT!

The subtitle - "a short story about recession, attraction, and data visualization" - may seem somewhat intimidating. Thankfully, though, "Mr. Penumbra" is a very accessible and enjoyable read.

More importantly, it's incredibly original - both in its ideas and prose.

Plus, like Robin said, there's definitely a lot here that speaks to us as Kindle users.