Kindle Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'ce been noticing a lot of threads recently regarding price changes on Amazon. I have a rather large Amazon wishlist that I check frequently to see if anything has dropped low enough in price for me to buy right away. BTW, my wishlist includes more than just kindle books. While price fluctuations have happened as long as I've been shopping with Amazon for several years now (I once noticed a GPS change in price 4 times in one day but never by more than about $5 I think), I have noticed a bit more price changes than usual this month. I have a few opinions (by no means fact) as to why.

1. Surge of customers using their gift cards
2. surge of new kindle owners buying content for new kindle (I wouldn't be surprised to see another round of price changes in late February/early March when the next batch of Kindles are shipped).
3. The dozen or so free books...if someone spends say $12 for a kindle book, then they just got 12 or so books for $12, a real bargain! So Amazon can raise the price of many books that sell well. You know, lure them into the store with free (or cheap) candy.....
4. I believe that Amazon has some crazy forumla that takes into account the number of people that just look vs get free sample vs wishlisted vs buy. The more that look AND buy, the higher the price. The more that look but DON'T sample/wishlist/buy, the lower the price. I am also certain that it takes into account how well a particular author's other books sell in general. I would imagine that the total gross sales for any particular day can also have an influence over prices.
5. Of course if publisher/author says you must sell this book for $13.63 no matter what, then forget #4. Some publishers/authors give Amazon little or no control over certain kindle book prices. Other times Amazon has more freedom to set their prices
6. ebook retailers, publishers and authors are still learning the market