Kindle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am a new author, I will like your thoughts on this book blurb, will you buy this book if you are a reader.
The title of the book is

The mirror

Book blurb

The eyes see it all
The mirror reflects it

At age twelve Ivie saw death but not the soul reaper, for a girl who can see death she fear her past, Ivie fears the person she sees anytime she look at the mirror, she fears the power she willed.
She knew she can't hide anymore when she lost her best friend to the faceless creature whose very existence meant death. The faceless creature who hunts her dream.
" Who is this creature?"
" Why does it do what it does?" All these unanswered questions lead to the death of her parents.
What will she do when she discovered her parent's death was not an accident and she might because of their death.

·
Registered
5,576 Posts
I'm terrible at my own blurbs, even though I know what they are meant to convey.

First of all welcome to kindleboards as a new author.

In this case, I would want to name the MC. Identify the conflict and what raises the stakes in ovecoming the antagonist who creates the conlfict, both externally and the fear within - all without giving the story away, such as her parents death.

In this case I'd have a stab at horror as the genre.

I would say the blurb as you have it is confusing and gives too much away.

Starting with the log line, it doesn't tell me anything. Whose eyes? What does it reflect? If you are to use a log line, it needs to draw the reader in right away to read on. In the suggested log line below, I've made it ambiguous as to whether the evil resides within her or in the mirror. Just remember that a blurb is one of perceptions to create interest in the reader's mind, and the story itself is one of discovery.

Maybe. Ivies' eyes see death - She lives in fear - Her mirror reflects the evil within