Kindle Forum banner

When considering book length, I usually think in terms of...

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently, upon updating some friends on the progress I've made with my current work, I was surprised to hear several of them brush my word count aside, imploring me to provide them with a page count instead.

I have never thought in terms of pages (either as an author or reader), and so it was surprising to learn that some seem to go by this exclusively. In their own words, a word count was "meaningless" to them because they had no frame of reference for how many words comprised a typical novel.

I'm curious to hear your thoughts. Do you think in terms of pages, word count, a mixture of the two, or something else when considering book length?

In my view, book formatting is so varied it makes page counts rather meaningless.

What do you think?

·
Registered
5,573 Posts
As an author, I'd vote for word count. As I reader, page count. The poll has no meaning without knowing the target as most on here a authors who in the main think in terms of word counts ranges when writing a book.. As a formatter, I'll agree that page count is a nonsense, but that's what readers know.

I would be very surprised if that were not the case between authors, publishers and readers. Readers are not conditioned to word counts. Word counts are not shown anywhere an any publication for sale.

There are no pages in eBooks because what you see on the screen is variable. eBooks are more about locations. That's why Amazon gives an estimated page count for ebooks, or match the print book count, because that is what readers are conditioned to.

In a book store I would think it would be spine width to judge one book against another for length at first glance.

Reactions: nail file

·
Registered
972 Posts
Of course readers think in terms of page count. That’s all you can see when buying a book, whether physical or ebook.