Kindle Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, just a plain old introduction here. An under-40 married technology worker from Northern Virginia, who's loved books all her life. I was seriously dubious about the Kindle, being big on physical books (my husband HATES it when we move!) and I'm an ex-part-time librarian, but all the glowing reviews (from the actual owners) convinced me to take the plunge. I've had my Kindle since February 08 - I used all my Amazon gift certificates from last Christmas to order it just after the New Year.

I've been using it "as intended" since then, reading up a storm and loving it, when I discovered the Amazon discussion boards last weekend. I was looking for a way to add Kindle books to my Wish List for Christmas (not possible, sadly), and found a post directing me here. Naturally, I had to sign up for the DecalGirl contest, so here I am!

Hi!

Love the boards - lots of good information and interesting discussions, hopefully I won't lose the bookmark! :) Kindle-wise, I have about 60 books on mine at the moment, no newspapers or blogs, and only one free book, although I am starting to look for more.

I prefer not to use the cover at all, and I use a Light Wedge reading light from ThinkGeek, in the paperback size for night-reading. (The Wedge fits perfectly over the screen, and doesn't disturb the hubby.) I only recently discovered how to make my own photos into Kindle screensavers, so I've been playing around with that since the weekend.

That's about it, so... hello everyone!

·
Registered
1,746 Posts
Hello and Welcome!!  Glad to have you with us!  It's a great group of people and you came just in time for the DecalGirl/Kindle 1st Birthday celebration and contest.  I'm sure you'll enjoy this site as much as I do!  Any hobbies.... any pets... favorite recipes.... favorite books??  We have discussions for those topics too.... and much, much more!  Enjoy browsing and join right in!!!

·