Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
723 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have seen some incredible quilting's posted around here and it seems we have knitters as well.
Maybe you all could help me.

I am interested in learning to sew.
I just bought a Singer Machine and I am looking for the ONE BOOK and/or DVD (or one of each)
to use as an absolute beginner to self teach.

I am a handy person, used to be a woodworker, raised by an architect, have a lot of graphic/design
art type experience so this should be something I can self teach.
At least until I get the basics down then I might look for a local class.

Appreciate the help!
Eric
Still waiting for my Kindle....

·
Registered
325 Posts
I'd say a local class is your best bet. There are certain things that are hard to see from a book or video. If you decide to try to get a start, a video will probably be better. I seem to remember that Singer has some videos on its site for various sewing techniques.

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
Eric,

Where did you purchase your singer? A lot of times the places you purchase a sewing machine will have classes that you can take (usually one-on-one) to help you get familiar with your sewing maching.

Also if you have a Joann's in your neighborhood see if they have sewing classes.  You can also find beginning quilting classes, which are a great way to learn all kinds of sewing tips, at your local fabric stores/quilt shops.

enjoy your machine.

Theresam

·
Registered
261 Posts
You should browse around your local fabric store - they usually have lots of instructional books, and also you could find a pattern you like and jump right in. All the patterns are rated for experience levels, and there are detailed instructions within each pattern. After you get your feet wet, a sewing class would help you fill in the blanks and show those techniques that are hard to get without demonstration.

·
Premium Member
19,280 Posts