Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 115 Posts

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just finished The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. If you like historic fiction, this is a great series. The only problem was, as soon as I finished one, I would go on the Kindle Store and buy the next one. I seriously neglected my school work while reading this set (I am a grad. student).

Diana Gabaldon makes you feel like you are in Scotland in the middle of the Uprising of 1745. She then follows Claire and Jamie through their lives for the next 30 years. Sometimes, I felt like I could hear Jamie's Scottish brogue.

This is a great read, but be warned - make sure all your work is done before you start reading.

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
Hiya tlshaw....welcome to the forum. We've been talking about The Outlander series among others in other threads throughout the Book Corner. I think they may be under "What are you reading?" and "Favorite books", or something to that matter. Feel free to join in :))

·
Registered
829 Posts
I've read them all but the last one - which I have downloaded and it is in the queue.  Great reads!!

OK....  break over.....  back to the grindstone/salt mines.  BBL

·
Registered
26,676 Posts
For those of us who love Jamie and Claire, Essential Entertainment is going to be producing the franchise, starting with Outlander.  Randy Wallace (Braveheart) has written the screenplay and it is out to directors now.  As we speak, they are in Scotland scouting locations, with an eye toward beginning filming in the Spring.  

I read Outlander when it first came out and gave up on a movie long ago.  Now that's it's going to be a reality, I'm worried about all the things that can go wrong.  If the casting isn't right, especially Jamie (Karl Urban/Eomer), I may not even go to see it.  

I hope that Peter Jackson takes over the directing chores, so we can be assured of an honest and probably successful effort.

·
Registered
5,879 Posts
tlshaw said: