Kindle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.

Complete newbie here, so I apologize if this is a tired question to the experienced members here.

Let's that I wanted to write a travel memoir featuring an overseas city or region that I have often visited, and I have -- for personal purposes, just as a tourist -- taken photographs of many of the buildings and sights that I wish to mention. (I am just an amateur photographer, not a professional.)

If I wanted to use some of my own photographs to illustrate such a book, then would I need to acquire a property release for each and every building that I wished to depict via my own snapshots? E.g.:
-photo of building X on page 10 - property release from owner of building X
-photo of museum Y on page 11- property release from owner of museum Y
-photo of castle Z on page 12 - property release from owner of castle Z
and so forth?

Property releases from every owner of every single individually depicted structure?

And if that is what would be required, then would I have to go through a lawyer in the overseas city or region in question to obtain all of these property releases?

I mean, how would one even begin to find whom to contact for every structure, and what sort of form (in the language of the overseas area in question) to send them?

Perhaps I'm not understanding this correctly. It would seem like a Herculean task.

Any information on this score would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Sorry for replying to my own thread, but I just realized that I left out the second half of my query, which is as follows: