Kindle Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a complete newbie to this.

I posted here before about the best options for self-publishing for print and CreateSpace seemed like the one most people agreed was the best option. I have an appointment for a phone consultation 7.5 hours from the time of this post -- not a promise to pay anything, JUST a consultation. (Also the email I got said I'd be contacted by a John Mark Schuster... has anyone worked with him before?)

I have my own list of questions, of course, but are there any details I should ask about that might not be things a newbie to publishing would know to ask?

My goal is to get an approximate evaluation for two of the books I have that are close to the point where I can publish, I just need information on how to produce the illustrations and some other technical details. The funding for this project will be done via kickstarter. I'm going to go through what kinds of services they offer, what they recommend for both of my projects, and what their print publishing options are like.

Thanks for any input!

·
Registered
877 Posts
I wouldn't recommend using them for anything other than the publishing itself, and then paying $25 for expanded distribution.

With the caveat that this is all personal opinion here are the things you need.

If you are unsure if your books are ready for publication, join a critique group, either inline or in person. I am an online member of Critique Circle and quite enjoy it, but there are many others. Find one that fits your tastes.