Kindle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, guys!
A week ago I had my first ever promo stack. I did 12 (10 paid, 2 free) promo sites, divided between 3 days, February 14, 15, and 16. I have my own thoughts about the results, but the problem is that I cannot judge them accurately, because I've never done this before, so my results might be average or good (or bad), and I just can't tell.
Here is where my numbers are:

BOOKS OUT:
1 book (0.99 KU - the one in the promo) and 2 pre-orders (2.99 and 3.99)
PROMO SITES:
Book Barbarian
Fantasy Book Deals
Ereader News Today (ENT)
The Fussy Librarian
The Book Cave
Bargain Booksy
Book Doggy
eReader IQ
BKnights
Free Kindle Books and Tips
Choosy Bookworm
Awesome Gang
TOTAL INVESTMENT: $273.50
TOTAL DOWNLOADS OVER THE 3 DAYS: 74 (24, 23, 27)
PRE-ORDERS SOLD: 7
KENP Reads: 0
BEST OVERALL RANK: 15,000
4 DAY-TAIL (? Not certain since I had NL swaps for the 18 as well): 8 books, 0 pre-orders
TOTAL ROYALTIES EARNED: $25.52

Ok so, here's my dilemma. Just from an ROI point of view, I am more than dissapointed, but then again, I don't know if I SHOULD be. My book is a YA Coming of Age High Fantasy, PG-13, 70k words. Both the cover and blurb have received good feedback and it's been profesionally edited. I also have 11 reviews of 4.5 stars average. My question is, are results like this for this kind of book expected? I guess the issue is that I'm just looking at ROI as my only guideline and I don't know if 74 downloads is a good number or not. KENPs also have not appeared anywhere (I gave it the entire week just to see if they started to trickle in, but nothing). Maybe I did somethign wrong, or chose a wrong day? Or there's nothing wrong and these are just the results I should expect for $300.00 worth of promotion?
Please help.

Here are my cover and blurb in case you want to evaluate them:
Front-kindle-size.jpg
Before...