Kindle Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I am new to this and am full of questions but would just like to start with one.
How do you decide on pricing for your work? there doesn't seem to be any guidelines to this and so I wondered what was classed a 'fair' pricing for short stories and novels?
I write childrens stories, should they be cheaper than adult fiction? is it based on word count?
anyway, I hope you can help me.
Thank you in advance.....

·
Registered
982 Posts
CatherineIsom said:
Hi everyone, I am new to this and am full of questions but would just like to start with one.
How do you decide on pricing for your work? there doesn't seem to be any guidelines to this and so I wondered what was classed a 'fair' pricing for short stories and novels?
I write childrens stories, should they be cheaper than adult fiction? is it based on word count?
anyway, I hope you can help me.
Thank you in advance.....
That's a question of great debate. There's no correct answer, though most indies price fiction e-books between $0.99 and $2.99.

The trick is to go to Amazon.com and look at books similiar to yours. Use that as a guide to determine the price you set for your work. Guide is the key word there. I'm not saying to make it the same, in all reality.

Then, you might need to experiment with the price later on down the road. Some people sell better at a certain price. There are plenty of people who sell less copies at $0.99 than they do at $3.99 or even at $5.99.

·
Registered
380 Posts
Catherine,

The good thing is that you can't really make a mistake, because if it appears you have over priced or under priced--just change it.  It's so easy to do.  As for children's books, I certainly wouldn't price them any less than other books of comparable length. 

Patricia

·
Registered
6,565 Posts
I would just correct what Ryne said slightly: