Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
377 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I love these threads, and now I get to step up and share!

Background:
Published my first book January 1st (it's enrolled in KDP Select) and the only marketing I've done is my own social media and requests for reviews. Presale=25 sales. Release weekend that book's top rank was just under 4,000 (combined 36 sales/borrows that day), so I considered it a successful launch! It's stays in the 20,000-40,000 range now with about 5-10 combined sales and borrows a day.

Book two will be released March 26th. So far it has 146 presales (WOOT) and it's rank is 60,000- 80,000 this week (about 2-5 sales a day) I do wonder if release day will actually spike, or if it's going to stay consistent because of this. BUT since I'm a new author, I decided presale was the way to go-- maybe for future series I wont do the same. --either way I'm happy with these numbers so far.

The Plan:
Book one will be on promo for .99 from March 22-28. I went with the throw everything at it model and here is my confirmed lineup:

March 22: Paid: Booksends, Betty Book Freak, FussyLibrarian
Free: Readcheaply, BookSCREAM free 84 Sales, 6 Borrows (book two=8 preorders)

March 23: Paid: Ereader News Today, Riffle, 135 Sales, 9 Borrows (Book two= 7 preorders, Book Three= 3 Preorders
Free: ManyBooks, BuckBooks

March 24: Paid: Bargain Booksy 68 sales, 10 borrows (book 2= 10 preorders, Book 3=1 preorder)

March 25: Paid: Sweet Free Books 23 sales, 8 borrows (book 2=12 preorders, Book 3= 1 preorder)

March 26 (Release Day for Book 2): Paid: Genre Pulse 73 Sales, 17 borrows (Book 2- can't tell what numbers were pre order or new sales... Borrows= 28, Book 3= 5)

March 27: Paid: Ebook Hounds, Romance Ebook Deals, Riffle (Gave an extra day in diff category)
Free: The Naughty list 55 Sales, 10 borrows (book2=18 Sales, 23 borrows, Book 3= Pre-order 7)