Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about changing careers and going into the nursing field, since there is always a need for nurses and not any for the field I kinda fell into by default - executive assistant - and constantly the first line of lay offs.

Anyway, I was wondering, how to you figure out the difference in nursing programs? Can a squeamish person actually over come being so squeamish  :eek:? I couldn't make it through ER because of the surgeries but did work in a medical facility for a while. Mostly typed up procedures (I'm able to type without reading!).

Any thoughts, ideas, and or advice would be appreciated.  I live in washington state and am 40 (I hope it's not too late to change careers!! :eek: ???)

thanks

theresam

·
Registered
704 Posts
You are looking at a great profession. I graduated from a 2 yr Associate Degree Nursing Program in 1975.
Some of the students who made the best grades were the older students (I was 18) and who were moms and grandmothers. There is so much variety in nursing what type of specialty you choose, what type of facility you work in. It is great money and you can even work part time and still make good money. It is so in demand you can also find work to suit your hrs.
I really don't remember seeing too many overly horrible situations as a student nurse. Patients are admitted sicker than they were many years ago.  With the two year degree you don't have as much clinical experience as a 4 yr student would. I almost passed out watching an orthopedic surgery.... the mask didn't help. It is good you do have some medical background going in to this. I am sure you will have other who can tell you more about their experiences. Best of luck!
Kdawna

·
Premium Member
19,280 Posts
Theresa,