Kindle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm hoping to collect some opinions on the idea of using pen names.  For the past 10 years, I have made a name for myself as a web programmer and graphic designer.  Just recently, I began writing and set a goal to publish my first novel this year as well as several short stories and anthology submissions.  The novel I am nearly complete with is erotica and will be clearly stated as such.  Since I have made a name for myself amongst authors, editors, and publishers as a graphic designer, would it be acceptable and welcomed for me to branch out as an author using the same name I use for my design business?  Also, will it hurt my business relations if the fact comes out I am an author of graphic romance novels?  I'm bouncing back and forth whether to keep my two identities separate or piggyback on the connections I've already made and use my real name.

Of course, I know how odd it seems that I am asking this sort of question in a public forum.  But keep in mind, the connections I have within the literary world are not my concern.  My main concern is my existing business clients and personal relations that may not accept this new venture.  I will have to make a decision soon as I am submitting a short story to an anthology in less than a month.

Thanks to all in these boards.  I've heard some great discussions so far and the support is really helpful.

·
Registered
56 Posts