Kindle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,
so, I am an exchange student from Germany and recently I have discovered there are a lot of manga available for free in the internet (as far as I've seen all of them in .gif format, where every page is one picture). Now since I will go back to Germany soon (less than two weeks), I was wondering whether it would be a good thing to buy a Kindle, since reading a lot on a computer is simply annoying (I also read a lot of books, so I might actually buy kindlebooks as well later). I know the whispernet will not be available in Germany and I also know that buying books for the kindle is restricted to users with american credit cards.
So, basically I have a few questions:
1. How does the conversion work for .gif pictures?! I know I can kinda sort the pictures with the inoffical method by posting notes with name initials and then the categories, but will the pictures themselves look okay? Furthermore, is it easy to convert the pictures by myself using some programs or do i actually have to use amazon's conversion service for that? (If not, how much is that service?)
2. How does downloading the books without the whispernet work exactly? I expect the books are DRM-protected, so could a friend here in the US purchase books in the kindlestore and then email/send me the files so I can read them in my Kindle? I will not have an American credit card after I leave the US and I heard that that company behind amazon checks for ip-addresses and additional information anyway, so copyright problems would arise, which I hope to circumvene with friends in the US purchasing the books for me.
3. What happens if my Kindle 2 is one of those many that fades in the sunlight and I am back in Germany already? Will the customer service send the replacements only within the US or is international delivery (for replacements) available?