Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,

This is my first swing at putting the font on my husband's novel. I would appreciate constructive comments and tips or hints on how to make it look better/more marketable. I am just learning how to manipulate fonts so your assistance is greatly welcomed.

Only the font and text effects can be altered. Our artist is on holiday for a few months so the artwork cannot be changed.

The genre of the book is Erotic Romance.

I used a Lobster font because I wanted something that would be readable in a reduced size and still have a fantasy/romance feel. Most of the flourished caligraphy or script fonts I have found seemed to be too narrow and even with the "faux bold" option, they just didn't seem to work well.

I have another few fonts that I am looking at for now, including Amazone, Black Rose, Shrewsbury, and Whitewater.

As I said, I am winging this and am in need of tutorials to help me make this work. Up until now, my exposure to PhotoShop was merely to import photos and change their size.

Thank you in advance!
Donna Mixon

·
Registered
982 Posts
The artwork looks pretty good, but I'm not too sure about the author name and the tagline.

If I was in your shoes, I'd consider increasing the size of the author name, though that might not be a great idea, now that I think about it. The Kindle that shows up in the cover art of the pictures on Amazon will cover the space between the name and the right edge, so increasing the font size might actually make it impossible to see the "n" in Mixon.

The tagline needs to be changed though. It takes effort to read it in the big picture, despite the fact that it is quite large. The cursive style font might look nice, but small text is difficult to read with it. Naturally, the tagline is unreadable in thumbnail size. Taglines are never readable in thumbnail size though.

·
Registered
992 Posts