Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
2,691 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Besides Google and Wikipedia, what do some of you do to gather research about a specific time period to write about when doing historical fiction? Do you travel to those places? If so, do you find it more worthwhile than searching the internet? Where else besides Google and Wikipedia can one find information about specific time periods of a certain US State/City? (like criminal records, people of interest, etc.?)

I'm a complete newbie at this, but I have an idea of a historical fiction/fantasy story I've been thinking about doing, but I have no idea where to start, what to do in terms of research....

G

·
Use the sources listed in the relevant Wikipedia articles as a starting point. At least in my case that usually leads to a real fountain of information.

·
Registered
13,767 Posts
It's best to set Historical Fiction in an area where the research is tangential and an adjunct to your own well-heeled knowledge of the period. For example, I have degrees in Chinese History and have published many books based in Sinology - both modern settings and 12th Century Chinese settings. I do my research from my own bookshelf, but generally only when I need a detail that wasn't covered in my training. Despite this, my work is character based and NOT history lessons. The background only serves to bind the reader's credibility. Such emersion fiction isn't served by a cursory search of the web. You need to smell and taste the places. It is better to cook a Chinese meal from a 12th Century recipe and experience it (both the taste and the mechanics of cooking it) to serve a paragraph in Historic fiction than to look up something on-line and guess at how it could be derived. Like all good fiction, your experience counts more than your research, which only corroberative facts and incidental details.

Edward C. Patterson

·
Registered
604 Posts