Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been an indie author for over 5 years now with nearly 20 books in a variety of categories: YA, Middle Grade, romance, and a romantic comedy series. Normally I can write a few books a year and pull in about 17-25k without much advertising (a Bookbub or two a year and some much smaller ads). Nothing to get too excited about, but it's pretty cool to me and has been very consistent. But all of a sudden it seems like sales have screeched to a frightening halt!  :-[ My Draft2digital dashboard is stuck at the same number of sales for a week or more on end. My KDP page reads literally went from approx 500 a day (again, nothing to brag about, but still) to ZERO. Sales are dried up. Has the market changed overnight, or have all sellers tweaked their algorithms? Maybe I just need to come out of my cave and spend far more time trying to creatively advertise, but it feels like SOMETHING has changed, and I can't put my finger on it! Anyone else in this same pickle?!

·
Registered
573 Posts
It HAS changed recently, I'd say. I think the last couple of months, at least, the world's just so uncertain that spending has dropped a bit in a lot of areas. Except maybe alcohol.

I've been spending a lot on alcohol.

We have the global pandemic, we have the American elections, here in the UK we have Brexit and all the uncertainties that come with that.

I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of authors are feeling the squeeze atm. I'd wager if you have a bigger ad budget, it's maybe a little easier to cushion it, but not many of us indies do.

·
Registered
582 Posts