Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
368 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new with my Kindle and trying to be very careful with it.  I was curious and concerned by the earlier post stating personal screensavers could void the warranty.  I wrote to Amazon and this is the response I received:

Greetings from Amazon Kindle Support.

Thank you for your interest in placing personal screensavers on your Kindle.  While it is possible to do so, it is not a supported feature of the Kindle, and you run the risk of damaging your Kindle thus voiding your Warranty.

Best regards,

Matthew T
Amazon.com -- Earth's Most Customer Centric Company

I am sure others have installed them with no problems.  I just thought I would share this information with everyone so we can all make our own informed decisions.  :-\

·
Registered
44 Posts
Tada! Thanks for getting that information from the Kindle Support team - if you do it, make sure you know what you're doing. It's like trying to mod an xbox 360 - it can be done & a lot of fun, but if they [Microsoft] find out you did it, they won't support it anymore...

G

·
That is their text book response.  If they stick with it then there are a lot of Kindles out there with boided warrenties, mine included.   I do have the original screensavers in a zip file and could reinstall them if I wanted to but I just don't want to.

I wonder how they feel about skins and third party covers?

·
Registered
473 Posts
Vampyre,
It would be just my luck though, while attempting to download a screen saver I would glitch and ruin the Kindle.
Maybe this just all sounds intimidating now, because I have NEVER even seen a Kindle in RL!

·
Registered
44 Posts
Vampyre said:
That is their text book response. If they stick with it then there are a lot of Kindles out there with boided warrenties, mine included. I do have the original screensavers in a zip file and could reinstall them if I wanted to but I just don't want to.