Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
4,967 Posts
You can share books if you are on the same Amazon account. You can have 6 Kindles registered to one account. Different credit cards can be added to the account, but you have to be careful that you are using the right credit card before using the one-click feature.

·
Administrator
63,461 Posts
Someone has also deregistered the Kindle from their account, registered it to her husband's account and downloaded books, then deregistered from the husband's account and reregistered to her account and was able to keep the books.  I got tired just thinking about it, and don't know if Amazon will figure out how to prevent this, but it seemed to work so far.  There's a post somewhere....

Betsy

·
Registered
16 Posts
I am very new at all this...the kindle (patiently waiting since December 11th!!) and message boards (my first) so please bear with me.
I so far understand that an account can have up to 6 kindles registered to it but how many accounts can a kindle be registered on?  Only 1?  Regarding sharing books, I just thought that you can have a friend register their kindle to your account for sharing books only but they could have their own account to actually purchase books on their own credit card.  This must not be the case?  I am (un)patiently waiting on mine and trying to talk a friend into getting one too.

·
Registered
788 Posts
A single Kindle can only be registered to one account. So your friend cannot register his Kindle to your account and download your books, unless he de-registers his Kindle from his account, then he's up a creek for ordering books for himself.

·
Administrator
63,461 Posts
Each Kindle can only be registered to one account at a time.  So to register it to another account, you must deregister it first.