Kindle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

Just got into KB and I'm loving it!

I'm a published portuguese author and my debut novel has been doing very well in Portugal. I opted to self publish for kindle and am delighted with the results! Particularly getting sales updates anytime I want to:).

Some readers have been telling me that they imagine it turning into a movie:). Consequently I got the idea of making a book trailer. Something like a movie trailer, but way less sophisticated (and cheaper!), in order to try to drive more people towards the book.

Do you think it's a good idea? Do ou have any reference of someone having done this? Tks in advance for your comments.

Happy new year everyone!

Tks, Filipa

·
Registered
120 Posts
Patrick has actually acted in a few book trailers - and so we are planning on looking into that in the future for his books. I think it is a good idea as long as the quality is there. Some friend in the indie-film biz around here are currently working on something for Progeny. Not sure if anything will ever become of it at this point - but I will update here.

Jennifer

·
Registered
3,683 Posts
I think the general consensus is that book trailers are cool and can be fun to make, but they have pretty much no impact on sales.

(My two worst-selling books both have book trailers. Lots of other books that I've written that I didn't do trailers for sell way more than them. On the other hand, my bestselling book has a book trailer. So... yeah.)

These days, I'd much rather spend the time writing another book than making a book trailer, but I sure have had fun making them in the past.

·
Registered
5,749 Posts
I think if you write YA, then yes, you need a trailer. (Teens are very visual, and there's an entire fandom around trailers in the YA world.)