Kindle Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
644 Posts
ndrake said:
Hi all,

Sorry if I'm repeating a subject, but I recently placed five books on Smashwords. Four of the books were approved for the Premium catalog, while one was rejected for hidden bookmarks. OK, so I went to where you insert them (Word 2010) clicked the check box several times and nothing. I don't have a TOC, I was relying on Meatgrinder to pull it together from the word Chapter. I Googled the problem and used the option menu to show hidden bookmarks, still nothing. I had carefully stripped out all formatting and went through each book line by line to make sure they were clean. I do not see anything out of the ordinary at all; just the formatting you would expect. Hmmmmmm

Has anyone else had this problem, and am I missing something. I write professionally for a living but am not a Word expert.
Hi Ndrake, I had the same thing happen to me. It was telling me that there were book marks to delete but I couldn't find any. What I did in the end (which solved it for me) was to copy it, open up word seperately and pasted it. I then looked at the book mark area again and there was some to delete, after I deleted them I tried smashwords again and it went up, picking the chapter headings up as it did so.

Hope that helps.

Carl

ps MS Word is an enigma wrapped in a mystery, and can never be fully understood by the likes of us mere mortals. lol

·
Registered
644 Posts
Also, make sure you have this program on your computer desktop, it's free: http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/