Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
***After your input I have since solved this issue in a way that should be a winning situation for all. You can see my solution here, if you're interested: https://hollyannehook.wordpress.com/2015/03/26/a-solution-everyone-should-like/***

I have a few hundred subscribers on my mailing list. Most of them have been fantastic. When a new person signs up, I offer the gift of a free eBook, reader's choice. I allow the new subscriber to choose any one of my $2.99 books for free. I have all five books of one series to choose from, and the first two Deathwind Trilogy books available as choices at this time. I allow one free eBook per new subscriber.

You can probably see where this is going.

Lately, I've had a couple of users (possibly, just one user) who are trying to get multiple free eBooks by using multiple email addresses. I won't say how I found this out here on a public forum, but those of you who use Mailchimp may know how I caught this.

I pointed out to the first user that I allow one free eBook per person, but to make a long story short, this person kept trying to deceive and manipulate in order to get the rest of the books for free. I had to block this person's email addresses (three in total) to get the harassment to stop. I go into full details about this on my blog if you want to read them.

I thought it was over, but this week the same thing happened from another user. This might have happened in the past as well, but I can't be sure.