Kindle Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
TLDR: I have been a starving artist for years, I am the living embodiment of a starving artist

Every time I write I feel sad and depressed. That may also be because of my current financial situation which is terrible right now. Also just the fact that I find it hard to keep writing when I know I’m not making money from writing novels.

Being unable to afford editors, cover artists, marketing services, etc.

·
Registered
5,933 Posts
The question you have to ask is why bother if it causes you to be depressed? Like with any activity, including full time work, you have to be motivated and happy in what you do to have a sense of fulfillment and accomplishment. If not, then you are living to work in drudgery and not working to live in happiness with purpose. The former is likely to turn the pyramid of life upside down and end up in a downward spiral for anyone to sink into depression.

I guess it's different for everyone depending on priorities, health, and financial position, but first and foremost, I view writing as my hobby and a passion. Making money comes secondary as a realistic expectation. Having the funds to pay for editing, covers and the like is a pain. That's not just because it's hard for many to find after paying for essential living expenses, but also because, the more prolific you are, the more it costs, and with no guarantee of making the investment back.

If it's a passion, you don't need money to publish your work with such as Wattpad, and making Canva covers are all you need on there where you are a member.. You don't need money to submit completed works to literary agents.