Kindle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, in my previous life I was a network engineer for AT&T. I managed the performance of the toll network for the Eastern U.S. into Canada. What does that have to do with book sales? I think, the probability of having twenty sales of one book in less than two days, and then having no sales for a week is about as unlikely as having ten million telephone calls in an hour and then having ten thousand the next hour. And it's driving me a little crazy trying to figure out why. And, as far as I can tell, there was nothing unusual to drive up sales, or to drive them back down again. I wish I knew what the difference was and then I could do it every day. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
12,227 Posts
Have you Googled your name and book title to see if you got a mention on a popular blog? Is it possible the first few sales were an accident but that briefly put you onto some niche category list, so that others found you? If it's a physical book, maybe a friend bought up twenty copies so they could pass some out to everyone they know?

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Dara,

Thanks for your comments (and I love your book covers). Yes, I have Google set up to let me know when my name comes up. And I was only referring to ebook sales. Sometimes I think that Kindle doesn't report sales for a few days. It's kind of frustrating to go from the top 2% in sales to the top 20% in a few days. Oh well, such is life. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,337 Posts