Kindle Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm nearing the finish line on my spy novel. Here is a concept cover (I haven't bought the image yet so forgive the quality/watermark.)

What do you think? Image/fonts/etc?

The novel is filled with action and adventure, and although I really like this image, I'm sure it says THRILLER.
I've been trying to avoid the cliche cover with men holding guns in front of Washington landmarks, but maybe that's the best way to say "This is a spy thriller!"

·
Registered
6,706 Posts
My quick thoughts:

1) Love the image.  I think it matches the spy thriller genre.
2) Don't love how the title butts up against the edge.
3) Not a fan of the font on top.

Just my opinions.  Good luck.

·
Registered
841 Posts
I like the image.  Nice symbolism with the infiltrating pawn. :)

I'm no expert on the conventions for spy novels, but maybe make the title a little bit smaller?  It's running right up to the edge of the image.

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
You guys have really helped with my concerns about the image, so thanks a lot.
When I get a chance to put together another try at this I'll post the new one for everyone to see.

·
Registered
1,680 Posts
I'll concur with what's been said already. I like the concept, but the "agents" is very hard to read.

But are you wedded to that title?

·
Registered
499 Posts
This may be just a function of how my monitor is rendering colors, but I thought the red "AGENTS" on black was a bit difficult to read. Perhaps pick up one of the lighter/brighter shades of red in the red pawn to make the word stand out a bit better.

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Thanks for the advice everyone. I changed a few fonts and made the red ever-so-slightly orange-er. Still just playing around, so I'm sure it'll change, but this is what I'm at so far.