Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been a TV writer (DIAGNOSIS MURDER, MONK, NERO WOLFE, BAYWATCH etc.) and novelist (DIAGNOSIS MURDER, MONK, MAN WITH THE IRON-ON BADGE, etc.) for over twenty years. But I've only written and published three short stories in my career -- "Jack Webb's Star," "Remaindered," and "Bumsickle." Now I've bundled them all into THREE WAYS TO DIE, a collection that's now available for a mere 99 cents on the Kindle http://www.amazon.com/Three-Ways-to-Die-ebook/dp/B002BSHMD2

"Jack Webb's Star" originally appeared in the anthology Hollywood and Crime. "Bumsickle" originally appeared in the anthology Fedora III. And "Remaindered" originally appeared in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine and was a Reader's Choice Award finalist (It's also been available as a download on Amazon for a few years now).

The genesis of "Jack Webb's Star" was an illegal left turn I made coming off the on-ramp on Winnetka. A cop saw me, wrote me a ticket, and I was off to traffic school to burn it off. I made the mistake of choosing a "comedy" Traffic School run by the Improv and taught by a stand-up comic. It was hell. But as the hours ticked by, I killed the time by writing the bare-bones beats for the story that became 'Jack Webb's Star.' It turns out that it was time well spent. I also drew on the experience for the end of one of my MONK novels, "Mr. Monk and the Blue Flu."

Here's what some critics had to say about "Jack Webb's Star" when it was originally published in HOLLYWOOD AND CRIME...

"Lee Goldberg's 'Jack Webb's Star' is a riotous caper crime with a nasty twist that starts in a traffic school class in the Taft building, where among the offenders is a hapless man ticketed for drunk driving in his wheelchair..." -Los Angeles Times