Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
4,981 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Three years ago today, I uploaded my first indie book to the Kindle store. I decided to give indie publishing a try because I had quite a few previously published books that I couldn't find a home for. I hated to see them sit there, lost and lonely, on my hard drive, and I'd read about indie publishing, so I thought, "Why not?" I had been publishing off and on since 1998, through a traditional publisher and small e-presses, but I didn't have any fanbase to speak of, so I was starting almost from scratch.

My first month was inauspicious-- 27 books sold-- but the next month I was lucky enough to get featured by a blog that was popular at the time, and sales went up dramatically. Even so, I didn't do really well until I started writing erotic romance shorts and getting them up on B&N. I sold huge amounts on B&N in early 2011-- and then they messed around with the bestseller list, and my really big sales faded.

Even so, since then I've been able to sell pretty steadily. I write under three names-- romance, erotic romance, and m/m romance-- and which name sells best seems to vary from platform to platform. I have forty titles (a lot of which are shorts). I've sold about 135,000 copies on Amazon and B&N over three years, and I've done fairly well on iTunes in the past year, too. I have never been a big seller (except for that brief shining month and a half on B&N :D); I am pretty much an indie midlister, by which I mean I make enough money at writing to pay quite a few of the bills, but not nearly as much as I would like to. ;D I keep hoping for a big E.L. James-style breakthrough-- who wouldn't like one?-- but in the meantime I'm happy to be selling as many books as I am. Doesn't stop me from trying to sell more, though!

Scattered thoughts: