Kindle Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
768 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Question for other authors who have done Goodreads giveaways. When you do a giveaway a good amount of readers will add your book to their TBR (To Be Read) shelves.

Do you add these readers as friends in Goodreads?

I realize that Goodreads recommends adding any book you mark as wanting in a giveaway to your TBR stack, I'm just curious if authors go a step further and add these readers as friends? If an author did this to me, I'd think this was kind of cool. Since I'm not that experienced at Goodreads, I'm unsure if this is OK or frowned upon as an author activity.

·
Registered
156 Posts
Perhaps I'm more of a private person than other folks, but if I were a reader and put a book on my TBR list, I'd feel a little weirded out if the author then sent me a friend request. It feels a little stalker-ish to me.

Just my honest opinion.

·
Registered
509 Posts
I wouldn't do it myself. First off, I don't want that many friends, especially if it's someone I will never talk to again. There are other ways to follow what an author is doing than to friend them. Second, if every author I marked as to-read friended me and I had no other interaction with them aside from that, I wouldn't like it. Now, if said author was on KB or some other place where we have had or may have interaction, I'm perfectly happy with the friending.

On a completely unrelated note, how long do you think it will be before Webster's lists "friend" as a verb?

·
Registered
627 Posts
Yeah...but...until you ARE at the level of a Stephen King, I don't think a reader who TBRed your book will feel the slightest tingle of excitement if you add them. More like a tinge of awkwardness, and maybe a bit of pressure to read your book, which probably won't result in them reading it any faster. I mean some people have TBR lists that are 1,000 books long! Will they ever end up reading all of those books? Who knows.