Kindle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
993 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to release a second edition of the Adventure Tournament in the coming months, with new formatting for both the print and ebook versions, and I'm also changing the cover to use the promotional artwork I commissioned back when I first released the book. So this isn't so much a "critique my cover" thread as it is making sure I have the typography of the book and series title as good as it can be. I'd appreciate any thoughts. Here is the cover in large and thumbnail size:

·
Registered
338 Posts
I really like the concept of this cover.  I thought it got over a real idea of what the book might be about.  Nice strong, effective visual.

Now I'm no expert, (just look at my covers to see the journey I still have to make) so these comments are offered as a reader.  It looks better large-scale than thumb-nail which suggests to me that you perhaps have too much in it (not the pictures so much. I just couldn't read all of the text.) 

I personally don't like underlining as it seems to distract from the words.  And I didn't think the bottom typography worked as well as the top. It looks like Comic san serif to me.  Fine for some things but not as powerful as the other type.

·
Registered
2,622 Posts
Hi Nicholas!  :)

I would avoid using too many different fonts, looks like you have 3 different ones here. If I were you, I'd stick to two maximum.

If I had to choose, I think the author name is nice and readable so I'd keep it up there, then I'd switch Book one and the title and try to make the title bigger, on the bottom, with bigger letters and less space between the lines.

I'd be happy to try to make a mock-up for you if you'd like. Gratis, of course!  :)

·
Registered
11,307 Posts
I agree with the others about too many fonts. I'm not in love with them. The author name font is the best of the lot. Maybe...