Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to talk to you about my head, the former residence of what used to be my hair.

For Christmas I received a "professional hair-cutting kit," which is nice, except for the fact that I'm an amateur when it comes to cutting hair and the kit does not cut hair by itself. At least, I don't think it does. I haven't read the directions.

I hate getting my hair cut, so it had been a while since I had sat in the barber's chair and let a virtual stranger wield scissors near the part of my body that houses my brain, eyes and other key parts of the human body. I decided that I would cut my own hair from now on. Why not? I did it as a teenager and, as we all know, there are no bad teenager ideas.

So anyway, I just spent the last hour cutting my own hair for the first time in many years. I went in with the plan that, because I am getting older and my hair is thinning anyway, I would use the clippers sparingly, just enough to trim up and get rid of the sections that were getting a little too long. This plan did not work.

What happened was, I trimmed one side, then the other, then realized they were uneven, so I had to trim the longer side to make it match the shorter side, and then check both, and realized that I had trimmed a little too much on the second go around. This went on for a while, back and forth, evening up the sides, until I realized I had basically gone as short as I could go without reaching skin.

That took care of the sides, but I still had to do the top. At this point, with the closely-cut sides, and the top still long (long enough to stretch down to my nose, by the way) I basically looked like a grown person with a mane. And that is not a good look. Trust me.

So I started on the top of my head, clippers buzzing away, hair falling to the countertop, sink and floor, cutting, cutting, cutting....