Kindle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1,424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK- so many people are using the note feature of Kindle to add a note to the title page or the first page of a book that has "tag" words in it. You can then do a search on Kindle for the tag word which will result in search results for what you are looking for. This is the closest thing to organization that Kindle has to date. (of course we are all anxiously awaiting the FOLDER update... but I digress)

Anyway, I have never used tags before and am struggling with what to use. I do "make" my own word so that the search does not yield results that an author would write. I do this by adding a q before the word. Below are the tags that I am using. Help me out: what words do you use regularly for tags?

**NOTE: K1 owners need to allow 24 hours to pass before attempting a search for tagged words. K1's need the time to "index" the added words. It is my understanding that the K2 does not need a wait time and searches work right away.

My tag words so far:

qmystery
qromance
qbargain
qfreebie
qrecommended
qread
qunread
qsample
qvampire
qwerewolf
qevedallas
qsookie
qstephanieplum
qseries

What are your words and ideas????

·
Registered
7,183 Posts
I use tags for source, price, recommendation source, read/unread, subject and/or genre, and personal review scale with 10 high. I plan to add tags for position in series. I have not yet tagged all of my books. EDIT: You can probably tell from below that I use abbreviations. ::) EDIT: Updated to match latest list. I keep a list of the tags with my Kindle. I have stopped tagging for source, price, and personal review.

qtbr for To be read
qo for opened. I follow this with the date I started the book. When I finish the book then I replace with qrd.
qrd for read. I follow this with the date the book was started and finished.

GenresTypesSubjectsSeries
qsfqnonficqscienceqser for series followed by series tag and number